This is a graphic of mountains and a lake as used in the Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association logo.


North Alabama Fall Color Trail

There’s a saying that says fall is a southerner’s gift for surviving summer. If that is indeed true, North Alabama’s fall gift is gorgeous, vibrant fall foliage. And North Alabama has many breathtaking spots to see some colorful scenery.


  1. Blount County: Horton Mill, Old Easley, or Swann covered bridges and Rickwood Caverns State Park
  2. Cherokee County: Cherokee Rock Village, Little River Canyon National Preserve, Terrapin Creek, and Yellow Creek Falls
  3. Colbert County: Cane Creek Canyon, Spring Park, and Natchez Trace
  4. Cullman County: Ave Maria Grotto, Palisades Park, and Clarkson Covered Bridge
  5. Franklin County: Dismals Canyon and Rock Bridge Canyon Equestrian Park
  6. Lawrence County: Bankhead National Forest and Oakville Indian Mound Park & Museum
  7. Lauderdale County: Natchez Trace and Joe Wheeler State Park
  8. Limestone County: take a walk through the historic town of Mooresville and Rails to Trails Walking Trail
  9. Madison County: Burritt on the Mountain, Land Trust of North Alabama, and Monte Sano State Park
  10. Marion County: Buttahatchee River
  11. Morgan County: Point Mallard Park and Wheeler National Wildlife Refuge
  12. Jackson County: Russell Cave National Monument and Walls of Jericho
  13. Marshall County: Buck’s Pocket, Cathedral Caverns, and Lake Guntersville state parks
  14. Etowah County: Noccalula Falls Park
  15. DeKalb County: DeSoto State Park and Little River Canyon National Preserve
  16. Winston County: Bankhead National Forest


About Alabama Mountain Lakes Tourist Association (AMLA)

AMLA is a nonprofit organization dedicated to the promotion and development of the travel industry within the 16 northernmost counties of the state.  It is supported by 500-plus members consisting of chambers of commerce, Convention & Visitors Bureaus, attractions, campgrounds, festivals, communities, counties, golf courses, restaurants, tour operators, accommodations, vendors, financial institutions and individuals.  Counties included within the AMLA region are Blount, Cherokee, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Etowah, Franklin, Jackson, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Morgan and Winston. Additional information on North Alabama destinations, accommodations and special events is available by calling 800.648.5381 or by visiting